Tuesday, 30 January 2007

Garage Rocks

Spent a quiet day milling around the house and town. Went down to the back of the cinema and watched Pete Jib a telegraph pole, I need to pluck up the courage to hit it myself. I planned not to go out since I was quite tired but after a call from Cam I found myself walking up to the Garage. There was a live band and it was rammed. Met up with Cam and Jools and a handful of others. 3 Pint of mutzig and a weird spirit of JD & coke & Kalua. Twas bloody horrible. Cam was the person that originally broke me when it comes to spirits. The first sip made me pull an Esther Ranson face, the second I thought was ok, the third and I nearly threw up in my mouth. So I stuck to good ole Mutzig to wash away the taste. Quite hammered I staggered home and chatted to a random girl all the way home. For some reason she liked my drunken banter and actually walked past her chalet whilst talking to me. Was meant to boarding with Cam early the next day. I woke and felt like cack. I managed to hit the hill about lunchtime. Rubbish really. I am meant to be going to the Garage again tonight. Tuesdays are usually pretty good. So fingers crossed.

Avoriaz was mixed again, Tried to land backside 180's over the offpiste kickers. I failed pretty much. It was literally well bum. We moved onto the park and I plucked up the courage to hit the box rail again after slamming on my elbow on the first day. After a couple of shitty 50-50's I slide out a small boardslide. I have finally got it and pulled 3 more nice boardslides (jumping 90 degrees onto the box and sliding it out). Pretty chuffed I headed down the Prodains with about 30 kids in a bloody ski train. Could I get round the little gits. Could I fuck. It was icy and quite knackering, but felt pretty good. Its bad taste night tonight at the Cavern. After mine and Petes near ban I thought it would be amusing going as a huge spliff. I think i'll pass and go straight to Le Garage.....

Sunday 28th - Achey as all bloody hell

Well I woke up late. Felt like shit and had to contend with Nico coughing like a seal. Poor bastard was up all night with the Papy cough. My body aches like all hell. My neck has started playing up again. This worries me a bit since it was good for a while, its stiff due to getting whiplash from smacking my head but I keep getting shooting pains on the top vertebrate. I had this mildly before but now its quite pronounced despite not actually putting my neck out. All a little rubbish. Not much has been achieved today really. My board looks like a small war has been fought on the base. I don't see it surviving the season at this rate. Edward Scissor hands would have kept the base smoother I think. Though I haven't damaged the rails it has more plastic in it than Jordan.

Sat 27th - Icy Yeti

Nico & I fancied a change of scene from Avoriaz so we decided to head up to Morzine and Les Gets. The high peaks of Chamossiere & Pointe De Nyon were our first hits. The conditions weren't the greatest. Small amount of powder off the top of Nyon so we cut straight across the piste and dropped into the off-piste. Chamossiere was so so, a little rocky though still enjoyable. Last year we dropped into a shute off the back of the Ranfoilly lift. A small 5 min hike leads to a wicked powder run. We hiked it again just to check out the quality of the snow. A little unsure we dropped in anyway.




The snow looked descent enough to get a nice run. I dropped in an instantly hit a tree. Smooth. Though the rest of the run was deep untracked powder and I punched a nice line through till back onto the piste. Les Gets was next on the list despite the runs being closed. We went down them anyway. Les Gets board park was less than complete. A few boxes were dotted around though due to my previous stack at the Avoriaz park I wasn't in the mood. Getting back to Les Gets was harder than we thought. We ended getting stuck in a muddy field but trudged down and bumped into a Yeti at the badly named "Peak" bar at the bottom of Les Gets.



The run back to Morzine was one of the worst I have ever done. Angled icy pistes are not my idea of fun. I hit a little jump and landed fine but due to having little edge I slipped spun over and smashed my head on the ice. It bloody hurt and really pissed me off. I then slipped onto my knees. Its weird but I felt like I had regressed to a beginner level. We then hit a super section of powder into La Stade back into Plenney in Morzine.

Luke and I planned a quiet beer with Cam and Carson. We failed. In Buddha bar we had a sweet little sofa area. The guys were playing a brutally simple drinking game. Hold a piece of paper in one hand. The other person guesses. If wrong you drink. If you win you get to hide the paper. Cam and Carson had already polished off two Giraffes of beer. We joined in and started playing Spoof. 6 Giraffes later and a little bit of teaming up and we were all fairly pissed. Luke got a sneaky depth charge. I got the drip tray (I only found out a the next day) and Carson lost about 4 times in a row due to everybody else cheating. We left to get cheese toasties back at Cams. We got halve way and got distracted my Pete and Bruce and headed back to the Cavern. Carson is probably the least subtle person I have ever been with. I was chatting to a girl who happened to be a lesbian. I had no intention of pulling her, though Carson felt the need to constantly inform me and the girl in a voice similar to Homer whispering, "She is a Lesbian, You can't shag her. Honestly mate she likes girls." Toasties happened about 3am and were bloody brilliant.

Sunday, 28 January 2007

Friday 26th - Jib Night

The day was spent chilling due to being a little knackered from the last two days boarding. The evening will be known as the Log Sessions. Pete found a ledge in town and was determined to nail a tailslide down it. Pete, Matt, Luke and myself headed down with boards cameras and shovels. Built a little kicker and sessioned it. Despite lack of light it was quite successful. Apart from luke trying to miss me and slam his back on the ledge (sorry, I had to get in close to let the flash work). The last shot was highly amusing since Luke's hat completely covered his eyes.





After hitting the ledge we moved to outside the Buddha and jibbed the logs oustide. Despite the interest from lookers on, one even asked if we were MTV (of course we said yes) nobody hurt themselves. Probably a first, or just down to the fact that I was filming.

Thursday 25th - Carried Away



Today Luke, Nico, Jim and Myself went up to check out the powder. We aimed to ride the Chatel area since I knew a few spots and Nico had a couple up his sleeve. We rode pretty hard in the morning. We rode the same powder field we did the day before and pissed about on and off-piste.

We trekked across the right-hand side of linga, The left peak was out due to lack of snow (this was the infamous Avalanche spot from last year). The off-piste here was spot on, deep not heavily tracked and asking to be ridden.



After a superb run down the right hand side of Linga we decided to stop for a bite to eat at a restaurant perched high on the side. All was good till we planned to leave. Screw walking down I thought. I clipped in and decided to nail it off the side. All would have been good had it not been for the cliff and rocks. I hit the first drop fine, caught rocks and fell backwards down the second jut of rocks. I knew things weren't great when time slowed down. I thought to myself, this is really going to hurt. Luckily it didn't, though if my board could talk it would have been totally pissed with me. All in all 6 core shots and a small hole in my hand.

This freaked me out a bit so I took the rest of the day slowly. I get a little carried away sometimes. I am riding down slopes steeper than anything I have ever ridden. My powder riding is going from strength to strength.

In the Evening I hit the Buddha bar to meet up with my Uncle who was over for the week and his crazy drinking mates. The have apparently gained a record for the largest shot order in Buddha bar history. 200 Euros in one round. I managed to get a couple of drinks so was quite happy and lubricated for the Ridge bars Aussie Night. There weren't many Aussies, but was mildly amusing. Then onto the garage (my fav place). Tonight they were playing minimal and electro house. Would have been blinding if there were more people there. Julie was there so chatted to her for ages. A girl boarder who loves techno...... Im in heaven. She said she would like to catch up again so I will def pursue that. For some reason we went onto Paradis. I hate shitty clubs that think they are good. Wank. So drank a 6 Euro bud and dreamt of the Bass floor at fabric.

Wednesday 24th - Pow Pow Pow



Due to the amount of snow that dumped on my birthday we got up really early and hit the mountain. The snow was probably the best I have seen in ages. We dropped into a powder field off the back of one of the Chatel lifts. Beautiful deep powder. Got some nice turns in and dropped back onto the piste.

About 20 of us were bombing about. I stuck with Cam and Carson and hit loads of sweet off-piste. Much dicking about ensued with me being rugby tackled by Carson. We finished off the day going down Prodains run to Cams chalet. Apart from being contantly cut up by bastard skiers, it was a good run. My legs burning and feeling well happy I collapsed into a chair with a cup of tea.

Tuesday, 23 January 2007

Tuesday 23rd - My Birthday

Haven't really done anything today despite it being my birthday. Have had lots of nice texts from friends and family. Still feel fairly crappy but am kindof getting used to it to be honest.

I am currently sitting in a quiet french patisserie nicking the Wifi from the cafe next door. Just had a nice nice Millefeuille and a jasmine tea. Though I think the woman is going to get pissed off with me as i'm only really here to use the internet and I only have a 50 Euro note... oh well.

Tonight should be interesting. I hopefully wont have to buy many drinks, and its a P party at the Cavern for seasonaires. So fancy dress that begins with a P. Being the well prepared person that I am I have brought across a flight suit and plan to go Top Gun tonight. Should be a laugh and its quite a comfortable costume and looks the bomb.

For the record it has started snowing....... finally its 14.55 and about bloody time!

Tonight was bizzare. It all went a little sideways. The evening started off with a surprise birthday cake and candles, I got a lovely card from the guys in the house which really cheered me up. Strangely the cake was a huge MilleFueille... All good. I assumed that most people would be going to the P party at the cavern, it turned out to be just me an Pete and only me in fancy dress. Though the pilot costume doesn't take any effort really. We rocked up to the cavern expecting to see lots of others in crazy fancy dress. We were the first pretty much, but got free drinks for fancy dress and for it being my birthday. After a fair few shooters and strange depth charges (my stamina for spirits seems to be improving) a walking pool table turned up with a lifesize mobile phone, a panda, and a shed load of walking presents.





We were going to go the garage since its usually going off, but it was shut due to massive amounts of snow. During a brief break from the cavern we stumbled apon a fairly large snowball fight with a french chalet. The chalet was loosing the battle with about 20 people unleeching a torrent of snowballs (and a police cone). At this stage it was all rather amusing. It wasn't so later on.

Bumped into Cam who was taking part in a 3 legged race, we chilled and chatted to god knows how many people most I won't recognise again sadly. The night continued in a drunken way until we decided to leave (we might have been asked I can't remember exactly). The snowball fight had grown in size and seemed to be civil with a mild smatterering of chaos. It then turned to pure chaos. One of the french guys thought was needed was to launch a heavy wooden garden chair from the first floor. He was obviously bored with the usual snowball fight convention. The chair unfortunately the chair struck pete square on the head. Blood poured from his head and the scene was generally a bloody mess. A lynch mob was quickly formed whilst I tried to walk Pete home. The end result was that Pete now has 7 staples in his head. His seems fine about this and more pissed that he got blood over everything in the vicinity including his white board jacket.

Monday 22nd - Mum's Birthday

Got up fairly late again. No real need to bust a gut at the moment due to conditions. The guys headed up, though my arm still hurts so I thought i'd leave it for today. Its Drum & Bass tonight at the Garage so i'm hoping that there will be a good turn out.

Its weird, my head is all over the place at the moment. Part of me thinks, why am I doing this. The only reason really in coming over was to Snowboard a lot. So far this hasn't happened and because Chalet papy breeds Colds and Virus better than a 2nd World War germ lab, I really don't feel in the mood to go out that much. The other part of me thinks I don't have to do anything other than go out and Snowboard, quit your bloody moaning.

I think if I hadn't been having such a bloody good time in London before I came away I may feel differently. The people here are lovely, friendly and well meaning, though they don't really know me. I guess this is one of the problems with joining a group that has already gone through the bonding stage. Maybe its because I am getting older, but I feel that I have such a great group of friends in the UK and a part of me thinks do I really need to go through the old University style mass meeting of people. I have been there and done that.

I received a birthday card from Jayne, Matt and Suz yesterday. It really cheered me up, especially with the reference to my hat obsession. For the record I have not bought a hat in over a month....

Also happy birthday mum....

Minor Injury 2, Maor Injury 0

Doctor reckons I have buggered the tendon in my arm (his words). May take up to 2 weeks, though he reckons I can board if I am sensible. He really knows me well.......

Went out to Cayote bar and shot some pool with Pete and Kelsey. Played pretty well for me. Even double the black in to win one of the games. Its a shame i'm shit when I play at work.

My Uncle then rang me up to say he was standing at Buddha bar and where was I. Buddha bar is above Cayote, so i popped up and said hi. We then carried on to the garage, which was kicking. Spent a good couple of hours meeting people and jumping around like a twat.

Walking home came across a group of people slap fighting. They were lousy so I recommended the reverse hand slap. One guy then jokingly slapped me. Game on.....

I blocked all his moves and was happily playing around. I saw my opportunity, spun round and smacked him in the face with the back of my hand followed by a short slap with my right. Victorious and slightly wary that I might have started a proper fight I bowed out.

Walked up the road with Pete and dodged some wankery english youths shouting football chants... Bunch of wankers. Who lived up to my estimation by smashing the window of one of the shops. We then wandered home and discussed the state of the world.

Oh yeah met and cool girl called Julie who wished me happy birthday unexpectedly and another girl called Bee who is sound. Said she was on a boy detox for a month and was a couple of weeks in. I said I would catch up with here in 20 days.... man i'm smooth......

Sunday, 21 January 2007

Sunday 21st - Jim's Birthday

Woke up at 12.30. Feel like crap despite sleeping for 18 or so hours

Watched most of the house butcher Pete's hair which was amusing. Going down to the English doctors later to have my arm looked at and hopefully have more than one word conversations.

I am having really doubts out here at the moment. Im burning money like the KLF and am ill all hell. Got some bloody ear infection which is going round and deaf as a post. There is no snow and I can't sleep. I have a deep down urge to jack the whole bloody thing in. I know its irrational but I'm just not feeling it at the moment. I would rather be relaxing down in devon. Instead of getting progressively more ill on a bloody 18-30's. Shit spain gets more snow than here and its cheaper..... Im getting old. I hit 29 on tuesday and I'm really not feeling it..... bah

Its Jim's birthday tonight, I may go for one, but I ain't going large. Anyway I can't hear people when I out... Its a bloody joke

Well..... had a few Mutzigs in robinsons bar and then headed up to the garage. Was quite a good night though...

Sat 20th - The Land Of Eternal Sleep

Got up early to hit the mountain hard. I hit it a little to hard.

Mistake 1 - FS Boardslide on tree, caught and edge, hit said tree and ripped my jacket
Mistake 2 - FS 180, caught and edge and fucked my arm, hurts more today than it did yesterday, going to doctors (again)

Went to french doctors (a mistake) who couldn't speak english, I managed to get some tetrazapam to hopefully allow me to sleep despite the constant party in my room. It worked, Went to bed about 7-8, woke up at 12.30pm

Saturday, 20 January 2007

Friday 19th - Fear & Loathing


hmm, well I don't know how to start this post really. I don't plan on going into details due to the nature of the stupidy that ensued. All I'll say is that the strobe shower was a genius idea and that there are certain times when is advisable not to go out in public. Some of the highlights were


  • The window failing in on Pete.

  • Nico tagging Pete's back with a foot and a halve long grafitti piece.

  • Hours of hysterical laugher

  • Strobe shower

  • Contact juggling (probably the best I have ever been)



The evening was spend listening to music and trying to sleep. I can see this as an ongoing theme.

Thursday 18th - Bloody Rain

Got up late today due to torrential rain... boo. Though we are all hoping it will turn into snow. Bought some more gloves since my last pair ripped on first day. Lousy Burton manufacturing. Stole wireless at pascal (above the internet cafe) and generally bummed around. Found out that there is a D&B night over in the garage on monday. At midnight I will be 29 as well and to cap it off its meant to dump on tues night.

Went out to Cafe Chaux and met up with Cameron and his mates. They were all friends with the DJ, who was spinning house and dare I say it "funky house". There was a live bongo player and saxophonist. Pretty descent really. Got a little pissed and for some unknown reason went to Opera (A shit club round the corner). Whilst a couple of the guys blagged it in. I failed and had to hand over 14 friggin euros. I promptly danced like a twat for the rest of the night. The DJ was probably the worst I have ever seen. I counted 10 or more clashing beat mixes. I would have been better if he had just stopped the record and played the next.

Wednesday 17th

Went up the mountain with Pete this morning, well I say morning, the mornings don't really exist at the moment here. When all the good snow arrives (hopefully on my birthday) we will all be getting up a descent time.

I decided to warm my legs up on a quick run down to linderes. Snow was great at the top, shocking at the bottom. This made me give in and hit the board park. Not hitting rails at the moment due to a) being crap, b) it being early in the season and c) I had just waxed my board into a lightning fast snow destroyer which I would knacker on rails. I hit the green kickers a bit, not very well, but the landing was wank. Whilst Neil and Pete were happy nailing fs boardslides and lipslides on the rails, I chose to try the larger blue kickers. These were the biggest in the "baby" park. Hit the first nice and straight, kicked up and indy grabbed it. Landed nicely on the down landing and hit the second. All good. The best of the day as on subsequent hits I was winding windows. Landed on my arse a bit but nothing serious.

Decided to do another run and went down the prolays. Busy but good ish snow. Nailed it straight through the crowds and managed to keep a tail press going for about 50 metres or so and over small moguls. This run has loads of little kickers dotted around and natural jibs. Pulled a fs boardslide along a tree stump which was pleasing. The beginning I reckon. Chuffed I thought it best to head home. Nothing was done apart from waxing Petes board and a little fire juggling. I think I will be doing a lot, need to also contact Juggle a lot as well. Its the right place to get good. Especially when the weather is shit.

Tuesday 16th - Garage Night

Spent a quiet day chilling around town. Picked up and couple of things and got lost. Had to traverse through peoples gardens and down dodgy stairs. Went with Nico to the tourist office to sort out hotel for his folks. The lady initially spoke little english, though Nico wasn't sure if it was english or french, so the conversation went... err yeah, yeah, yeah, what?? yeah, whatever, err what. This went on then the women started speaking perfect english.... bloody french. Later I went with the guys from my chalet,Mark and the SkiTED guys to Buddha bar then onto the garage.

The garage is a small bar situated in the foothills above morzine. It can either me dead with a handful of locals drinking Mutzig or totally rammed with people jumping off the walls. Tonight it was the later. Got a few Mutzigs in and was buzzing. Its such a social place, every minute you are bumping into people, most I have no idea the names. I have also had the now commonplace "Do I know you from somewhere, you look familiar". Now I get this all the time. It has been decided that I must have the most average face going. I don't look like anybody famous, just other peoples friends. After the garage we trudged home and nicked some heavier than they looked breezeblocks from a building site to build our bbq. The idea is just that at Tue moment. Maybe one day it will come into being.

Thursday, 18 January 2007

Monday 15th

Actually got up the mountain today with Nico. Just cruised and dicked about with little kickers on the side of the piste, pulled a couple of little straight indy grabs. Explored Chatel after a bit to eat and meeting up with Mark. Scary thing he is staying with friends who run a chalet. Tom and Ed of skited also know the girls from my chalet. Its a small world. Chatel had a couple of nice runs and a couple of horrific brown rocky runs. Didn't bail though so not fussed. We then went down to the Avoriaz park. Hit the rail, pretty badly actually. 2nd hit I totally screwed up and face planted off the rail. I really shouldn't do rails on my first day. So took the skin off my elbow, no biggy. Pulled some nice grabs of the kickers and pulled what was for me a sizable mute over a 7 foot hip. Was pretty chuffed. Was riding with about 8 guys. Neil was amusing pulling rodeos of the larger kickers and trying them over the hip. Not quite successful. Spent the remaninder of the night waxing boards and fire juggling. Spent the evening till about 2am chilling listening to minimal... was good.

Sunday 14th

Chilled most of the day, went round to Cams house for a sunday roast. Well nice dinner with a load of new people. Went out to Dixies again, started drinking and sat on the floor since it was packed. All was good until the barmen reached across to pick up glasses and knocked a pint into my lap. Don't remember getting home but did lose my coat in the process. Vaguely remember turning the room into a rave with my glow balls, strobe lights and globalls. Was amusing.



This is my room. In the words of an estate agent it is compact and has character. It will do.....

Taxi

Being woken by the taxi was a bit of a shock and it took me about 5 min to register where I was, what I was doing and that I was still drunk. Matt and I went out for a quiet beer in Borough before I had to be up and off to Gatwick at 6am the next day. We stumbled upon a rammed tapas bar on Borough High St, Food was awesome, proper afair unlike the joke that is La Tasca. After more food than was sensible we carried on to another bar and so on till I woke like I had surfaced from being under water.

The morning started badly, it worse, then a smidgen better, then total shit. I felt like somebody had crept up in my sleep and filled my head with treacle. Gatwick express was out so we pilled in a coach and headed off. Now you read the papers and see the bad reports of Easy Jet, I thought it can't be that bad, it was. After being chared £65 quid for excess baggage. Oh you can have a extra bag sir, which you have paid for. But it can't weigh anything. Still hungover and mildly pissed off I duly walked off to the wrong gate. At Geneva my bag of clothes and random crap failed to turn up. The queue for lost luggage was like people waiting to pay the ferryman. It moved but at a glacial speed. I had a transfer to meet, a nearly dead phone, no phone numbers and a bloody huge boardbag to lug about. After giving up and walking through customs I found that the only way to get my bag back was to queue. Nothing could be done later. Bizarrely I found that I could walk through a door back into arrivals. I walked through customes 3 or 4 times that morning... and they stop you talking liquids onto the plane. Bloody ridiculous.

Anyway, I met up with a girl that was staying in my Chalet and some lads that were staying in Pascal or "The Crack House", Everybody was a little nervous anyway but talk of doss houses and catching typhoid in the kitchen didn't help the mood.

Due to lack of bags and general surreaness of the situation I decided to cheer myself up with heavy retail therapy. I went into slopestyle (wicked board shop round the corner), explained the situation and prompty rinsed my credit card.

As it turns out everybody is chilled and friendly. My room is a bijou to say the least. The window can't be shut to to the demolition of the bunk bed (my bed) but it functions, just.

Had a surreal night to kick things off. Went down to Dixies and had a couple of beers. Then out of the blue Cam, a mate from school comes over and kindof freaks out when he spots me. He is doing a season, lives round the corner and knows my lot. The night continued and finalised with a ritual head dunking in a freezing water trough. I came up pretty quick as soon as I felt my eyes rupture due to the cold water. Everybody else only put their faces in. I naively stuck my head in down to my neck. You live and learn.