Being woken by the taxi was a bit of a shock and it took me about 5 min to register where I was, what I was doing and that I was still drunk. Matt and I went out for a quiet beer in Borough before I had to be up and off to Gatwick at 6am the next day. We stumbled upon a rammed tapas bar on Borough High St, Food was awesome, proper afair unlike the joke that is La Tasca. After more food than was sensible we carried on to another bar and so on till I woke like I had surfaced from being under water.
The morning started badly, it worse, then a smidgen better, then total shit. I felt like somebody had crept up in my sleep and filled my head with treacle. Gatwick express was out so we pilled in a coach and headed off. Now you read the papers and see the bad reports of Easy Jet, I thought it can't be that bad, it was. After being chared £65 quid for excess baggage. Oh you can have a extra bag sir, which you have paid for. But it can't weigh anything. Still hungover and mildly pissed off I duly walked off to the wrong gate. At Geneva my bag of clothes and random crap failed to turn up. The queue for lost luggage was like people waiting to pay the ferryman. It moved but at a glacial speed. I had a transfer to meet, a nearly dead phone, no phone numbers and a bloody huge boardbag to lug about. After giving up and walking through customs I found that the only way to get my bag back was to queue. Nothing could be done later. Bizarrely I found that I could walk through a door back into arrivals. I walked through customes 3 or 4 times that morning... and they stop you talking liquids onto the plane. Bloody ridiculous.
Anyway, I met up with a girl that was staying in my Chalet and some lads that were staying in Pascal or "The Crack House", Everybody was a little nervous anyway but talk of doss houses and catching typhoid in the kitchen didn't help the mood.
Due to lack of bags and general surreaness of the situation I decided to cheer myself up with heavy retail therapy. I went into slopestyle (wicked board shop round the corner), explained the situation and prompty rinsed my credit card.
As it turns out everybody is chilled and friendly. My room is a bijou to say the least. The window can't be shut to to the demolition of the bunk bed (my bed) but it functions, just.
Had a surreal night to kick things off. Went down to Dixies and had a couple of beers. Then out of the blue Cam, a mate from school comes over and kindof freaks out when he spots me. He is doing a season, lives round the corner and knows my lot. The night continued and finalised with a ritual head dunking in a freezing water trough. I came up pretty quick as soon as I felt my eyes rupture due to the cold water. Everybody else only put their faces in. I naively stuck my head in down to my neck. You live and learn.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

1 comment:
There's no such thing as a quiet drink with Matt :)
Post a Comment